Life, the past and living for now.


We talk about life like it’s going to be here forever. We walk through day after day with our head in the clouds, ignoring people, things, stuff we need to do while others are suffering.

Finding ourselves dealing with things that are out of control can not stop us from living. It can only make us stronger. These things that make our lives crazy only last for a moment. They happen, we deal with them and have to move on. Moving on is what makes us stronger.

The things in our life we think are important are nothing when we look at a loved one with a horrible disease. Things are never as important when a loved one passes.

A clock on the wall seems to freeze when a family member calls to tell us about a loved one passing. Nothing seems to move, the world around us looks like a photograph from some far off place we’ve never been.

Coming into our lives everything is unknown. It is only through the contacts we make, the people we love, and the lives we change that we truly make our mark.

There are times I’ve wished to change things I’ve done, things I’ve said. But the past is over, the future is ahead of us and the now is staring us in the face.

We can change our jobs, our cars or where we live. But it’s our family and friends that will always be connected to us. Whether we still talk to family is something else. Talking is not necessary for us to be family, it’s in our blood, our environment and in our kids. My son smiles like my dad. He always has.

I haven’t talked to my dad in a few years. But he’s still there, he hasn’t gone anywhere. I still love him, but we don’t talk. I’d like that to change someday, I don’t think it will.

I’ve always been better talking through the written word, than verbally. I don’t like confrontation, never have. I’ve quit jobs because of it. Not because I’m weak, but because some things are more important than proving myself in a fight.

I’ve decided fights aren’t worth the effort. If there is one thing I’ve learned from Buddha, it’s that we should focus on what is going on in our lives now. Never focus on the past or the future.

Keep your head up and focus on what is happening right now.

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

