Level One, Ready Player One review


Science fiction is the most important literature in the history of the world, because it’s the history of ideas, the history of our civilization birthing itself. …Science fiction is central to everything we’ve ever done, and people who make fun of science fiction writers don’t know what they’re talking about. – Ray Bradbury

                                I’ve been on a Post-Apocalyptic reading kick for the last few months. I read Robopocalypse  recently. That book changed the way I look at technology. It was such an amazing book that I will have to read it again. I just finished reading Ready Player One. The premise of the book is fascinating and I’m learning a lot from the last couple books I’ve read.

I’ve always been a big gamer –one who plays a lot of video games–and this book fit in really well with that.

I remember going to the local arcade with my two older sisters in kindergarten. I spent a lot of time on a few games. My favorite was Missile Command. It was the 80’s and height of the Cold War and I always wondered about what was going on in the world inside the game. I’ve always been fascinated with the worlds inside the video game and Ready Player One brought me in with that alone.

It never occurred to me until finishing Ready Player One that I’d thought about writing that long ago. We went to a roller rink a few times when I was a kid. It had a small arcade with Missile Command–the really cool one where you sit in the box and feel like someone working for the government–Q-bert, Tron and discs of Tron. I spent more time in the arcade than the rink.

It was these games that made my childhood. Much like Halliday in the book, my parents fought at night. I had not arcade to run to but the next day after school it was on. With a handful of quarters from my sisters. I tore things up.

The complete immersion in Ready Player One that Ernest Cline puts into the book. From the gaming rigs used to play the OASIS (the game inside the book you must play to reach the Egg) to the landscape in the real world and the corporate entities wanting to get their hands the OASIS made me feel I was right along with Wade.

Being a kid of the 80’s and knowing a lot of the stuff inside the book made it even better. This is one of those Science Fiction books they will look at later and call it classic. It has so many elements in it that made me love it. Ernest Cline’s world building inside the OASIS and the real world were amazing. Having played MMO’s I saw things, little details about the game that maybe someone who hadn’t played those game wouldn’t see.

The being bored aspect that Wade started feeling about the game, the feeling of being stuck in the game and wanting nothing to do with the outside world is a big one of these things.

That you don’t want to deal with life because your some invincible character inside the game and in the real world you’re just the person you see in the mirror. No powers, not abilities, just you. I’ve felt that playing MMO’s. It’s also the reason I don’t play them anymore, besides not having the time.

Will break this up into two posts. It’s the only way I can review this book and not leave anything out. Here is the second part, Level Two, Ready Player One Continued.

This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Level One, Ready Player One review

  1. Pingback: Level 2, Ready Player One Continued | Brian B Baker, The Bleeding Ink Well

Leave a Reply

