Why you should work hard enough at your dream that you Bleed for it.


What are you doing with your life?

We slave away, punching the clock day in and out waiting for something to change. Here’s a lesson you should know by now: It’s not going to change unless you change.

Unless you want to Bleed for what you want. Unless you want to do the things to change who you are or what you’re doing, change won’t come.

Those things people say about wanting to do something amazing with their lives, be the person who does it. Be the person willing to make the sacrifices, make the changes. Bleed for what you want your life to be.

Our lives are constant reminders of who we want to be. They are living, breathing proof of what we want to be. We see our lives through Facebook, Twitter and other Social Networks. Every post, Tweet or update is part of who we say we are.

Who are you?

When you look in the mirror in the morning do you like who you are? Do you love your job? More often than not the answer to these questions is no.

What are you doing about it? In order for you to do something amazing you have to truly want to do it. We all have dreams–mine is to be a published writer–and I’m getting closer to this dream every night.

I stay up writing until twelve a.m. every night. Wake up at six-thirty in the morning and get some more words in. As I get in the car to go to my day job–bartending on the Las Vegas Strip–I think about how far I’ve come.

I wrote one book last year, it took me two years to write. The reason: I wasn’t willing to Bleed for what I wanted. I wasn’t willing to do everything I needed to do. In the last six months I’ve written eight short stories, I’m finishing another novel.

With each writing session I see the improvements. I no longer look at the negative in my writing, though I know what I need to fix. Working toward your dream is what you should be doing.

You should work hard enough that you Bleed for what you want.

Are you working hard to become who you want to be? Answer in the comments.

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Why you should work hard enough at your dream that you Bleed for it.

  1. Troy says:

    “The nine-to-five is one of the greatest atrocities sprung upon mankind. You give your life away to a function that doesn’t interest you. This situation so repelled me that I was driven to drink, starvation, and mad females, simply as an alternative.” — Charles Bukowski

  2. susielindau says:

    I think I am since here I am reading your blog!

  3. Fighting exhaustion is a constant battle. What we have to do takes so much time away from what we want to do

    • I had a week recently where I wrote so much my body said enough. I started to get sick, it was then I knew I had to take a break before I was burnt. Thanks as always for your comments.

  4. weelilwimsy says:

    This is fantastic and timely. I’m glad you felt the need to share it. Those that do achieve their dreams have always paid a price. The battle is prioritizing through life to realize it.

    • Thank you very much. I’m glad what I wrote moved you enough that you shared it with your readers. Life always gets in the way of what we want, but you’re right, prioritizing things helps us through. We all pay a price for our dreams, they’re different for everyone.

  5. Pingback: Honesty | WeelilWimsy

Leave a Reply

