Why living to 120 is my goal.


Doctor Who has a way of making me think. It’s been that way since I was a kid and would watch it on PBS.

We watched the episode the other night, the one where The Doctor falls asleep as the invasion is happening. It’s titled “The Christmas Invasion.” At the end of the episode the Doctor says, “there are 1000’s of alien species.”

I told my wife I believed we would see aliens in our lifetime. I then told her, “I better, I plan on living to 120. If I don’t see one by then, there just aren’t any.”

I think living to 120 is possible. My paternal grandfather told me his grandma lived to be 110, so I’m trying to beat her record.

By Vägverket [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

120 years.

When I think about the all the things my grandparents saw I’m amazed. All of my grandparents lived through the Great Depression. My paternal grandfather fought in WWII as well as my Step-dad’s dad. My grandmother worked for the USO during WWII.

My maternal grandmother was a nurse and was raising 2 kids during the war. By maternal grandfather worked for the Union Pacific Railroad most of his life and is one of hardest working people ever, my mom says.

My grandparents lived through two world wars, the rise and fall of communism in Russia and Eastern Europe. They heard FDR’s speech about Pearl Harbor, heard radio shows and my paternal grandparents lived to see the internet.

To see so many things that you can’t remember them all is what I want to do. I want to live long enough to live the lives they lived. To see things they never imagined and to do things once thought science fiction.

They lived during a time when a lot of the world didn’t care about material things, or at least were too busy to notice it.

The stories I want to tell my grandchildren are about how I watched the first Mars rover land and send back pictures. How I saw the fall of the Berlin wall, the first Mars colony and advanced space travel.

I want to tell them about my first novel and hear them say, “Grandpa, we had to read your book in school.”

I look forward to all these things and the many that come after. I know that I’ll live a long life, I’ve known it for the last few years. I look forward to telling my grandkids stories about life in the twentieth century, and hearing them laugh about it.

How long do you want to live? Answer in the comments.

This entry was posted in Life, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why living to 120 is my goal.

  1. Pingback: CAre Giving Across the Ages « Dr. Sherry E. Showalter – "Keepin It Real"

  2. Especially like the part about reading your book!

Leave a Reply

