Writing Is…


The first draft is the one that gets all the thoughts you’ve been thinking. The part where you decide if the story is really worth the effort of the re-writes.

I usually know within the first two pages how it will go and whether I should keep going.

Writing is cathartic, it’s a way for me to exorcise my childhood demons, adult ones too.

When I step outside myself and look at what the project has going for it, I marvel at what I’ve written and think about where it may be coming from. These little moments are like Hallmark cards.

This week I’ll be starting the read-through for my novel and will be starting my revisions next week.  It will be a busy week.

I’ve learned that time away from a project helps me see things better. I can analyze what needs to be changed, what can stay and what needs to be added. While I’m writing I keep a notebook that I will write things down while writing the first draft, things I may notice that I know will have to be fixed.

These things are always important items, major plot issues and character problems that will pop up later, especially if the PoV changes, which it has with the current project.

I started this project one year ago this week. It was derailed because I didn’t focus on this story and started others. This will not happen again. I’ll start and finish one Manuscript at a time.

Would’ve, should’ve, could’ve.

If I had written this one and kept writing I would have finished the first draft months ago, but I’m a creative and I like to doubt myself.

There are many things I wish I could change about this draft, but that’s coming up soon. I will fix the things I shouldn’t have done. I will delete the things I should’ve deleted. I will do things that I could’ve if I’d only known how good this story was going to be from the start.

I’m very excited about this project. I can’t wait to finish it and get it to someone. I know they’ll tear it apart, at first. But we must break things down to build them back up.

 

 

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writing Is…

  1. Pingback: Writing Is… | The Bleeding Inkwell | The Bleeding Inkwell

Leave a Reply

