Writing Is An Addiction


“Feature image courtesy of J. Paxon Reyes via Creative Commons”

What is it about writing and finding time to get it done that some people don’t understand.

If you want something bad enough, you find the time. – My quote

Since I started writing mostly full time, except for my day job, I’ve had many people ask me where I find the time. I tell them the above sentence.

This is true in any thing you truly want. If you want to be an actor, doctor or want to do good in high school, you must put in the effort. I wish I’d have realized that twenty years ago when I was in high school.

I wasn’t a great student. I found a lot of the stuff they were teaching boring. I thought I was more intelligent than a lot of my teachers. I still believe this is why I didn’t do well in college, among other reasons.

One of the things I’ve learned about writing and being creative is you must do it every day to get good at it. If you are an artist, you must draw, paint or sculpt something everyday.

There is a rule, the 10,000 hour rule that states: That it takes approximately 10000 hours of deliberate practice to master a skill.

This means you must practice your art for three hours a day for ten years to be a master at it.

I believe in the 10,000 hour rule for one reason.

  1. When I write on a frequent, albeit sometimes repetitive, schedule my writing gets better. I write five blog posts a week, three on The Bleeding Inkwell, one for The Today Voice and one for What Not?.

Some have prompts, which make me use different parts of my brain than others. Some I come up with after reading a certain book. I’m doing a review of Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card on Monday, I just finished it and loved it.

For What Not?, a blog I’ve only started, the material comes from current events or something that may be rolling around in my brain that needs attention. With all of these, plus the novel I’m working on I write four hours or more day, cutting down that ten years to eight and half or so, remember my problem with high school, yeah, it comes it to play with numbers.

I write so much I wonder how I do it sometimes. But I’m getting better at writing. This doesn’t just happen by writing, it happens from reading good writing.

My current reading is The Great Gatsby and Forge of Darkness by Steven Erikson. I received and advance copy of Forge of Darkness and will read it at home, I don’t want to ruin it.

 

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing Is An Addiction

  1. Absolutely spot on. I was at a conference once and Barry Eisler was the keynote speaker. He said if you want to write and don’t think you have the time, don’t watch that hour of mindless T.V. at night. Set your alarm for a half hour earlier in the morning. Instead of going out to lunch at work, slip into a quiet room (the bathroom?) and bring a notebook. Time is where you make it, so make it count (my quote). I find that by writing every day, reading excellent writing, and critiquing other’s writing, my writing gets much stronger. I see what works, what doesn’t, and I apply that to my work. Can’t wait to read your review of Ender’s Game.

    • Avoiding all the traps we have, especially social media, is one of the best things we can do. I get pulled into it, especially Twitter. When I’m writing, or rewriting, I used Freedom to shut off the internet. Thanks for your comments Tameri!

  2. “This doesn’t just happen by writing, it happens from reading good writing.”
    I find this true, too. But also from bad writing (i.e. what not to do). Great post!

    • I read bad writing when I feel my writing is slipping. When I read it I know what not to do, then I read something better, like Robert Jordan or F. Scott Fitzgerald. Thanks for your comments Sylver!

Leave a Reply

