Book Review: Ender’s Game


I didn’t start reading a lot of Sci-Fi until after high school. There were Sci-Fi books I read, A Wrinkle in Time, Fahrenheit 451, Animal Farm. But these were required readings. Fahrenheit is still one of my all time favorites though.

After high school I started reading the classic books. From Hemingway, Tolkien, Fitzgerald, Herbert, Faulkner and Jordan.

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card is one of those books I read really fast. With my schedule it’s not always easy to do that, I finished Ender’s Game in a week.

Of all the books I’ve read thus far, in the Sci-Fi genre, Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card is the one I wish I would have read in Middle School.

I was bullied in Middle School, severely. When the book opens up with Ender dealing with two bullies, his brother Peter and Stilson. Ender’s bullying by his brother Peter is similar to what I dealt with in Middle School.

Once Ender is taken to Battle School, where he is put on a pedestal immediately by his commander, Hyrum Graf, before they leave Earth orbit, Ender is confronted with his first challenge.

By placing him on a pedestal, Ender receives the scorn of the other recruits. This scorn materializes in Bonzo Madrid when Ender is moved to a different army–armies are different groups of soldiers at Battle School–where Graf puts him on a pedestal again.

The “Thing” about Ender’s Game that got me, is the isolation Graf kept putting Ender in. We’ve all felt isolation. I felt it in Middle School when I was being tormented, this book would have been wonderful.

Isolation can bring out the best in us, or the worst. Keeping to ourselves can make us find something we otherwise wouldn’t have looked for. I found writing.

Ender begins doing battles, fights in Zero Gravity battlerooms, the other boys believe they’re are just games. Ender knows different. He looks at it as training for later.

Every battle Ender, and his army, are set up for failure, but Ender keeps winning these battles. Eventually they put two armies against Ender’s dragon army and he is sent to Command school where he learns to navigate, control and fight from the Buggers–a hive minded insect type race–point of view.

His last challenge at Command school is an assault on the Bugger home world. This assault is set up with the friend’s Ender has made along the way.

In the end Ender believes he has turned into the Bully, like his brother Peter.

After the battle, Ender goes with his sister Valentine and other humans to populate the universe with the human race.

The end of the book, very end, is wonderful and I liked the way it ended. I won’t give it away in this review. But I like the way it ended.

I don’t want to read the other Ender books because I liked this book so much.

The book is about a “kid” with an amazing gift, given to the government to save humanity. The way it’s written is what makes you feel for Ender and what he goes through. Card is a brilliant writer.

There is more I could add to this review about Ender’s brother, Valentine and how this book is used as a tool in the U.S. military, but that is for another time.

 

What did you like about this book? Answer in the comments.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review: Ender’s Game

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Ender’s Game | The Bleeding Inkwell | The Bleeding Inkwell

Leave a Reply

