The Life of Brian B Baker


Who am I?

This is something that only recently I thought about while working on another project.

I’m a writer of fiction. I can clarify which genre because I’ve written in almost every genre. Personally, I come from divorced parents, like most of Generation X. I’m outspoken about my feelings, politically and I try not to hold back.

I’ve been Buddhist for ten years, and I’ve recently become Vegan. I don’t meditate as much as I should, but when I do it’s for hour long sessions. I believe we should take care of the poor, elderly and those with disabilities.

I’m a dad to two wonderful kids. My son has ADHD and has problems focusing. He’s been playing the guitar for the last year and half and is getting really good. He gets half hour private lessons once a week and it’s boosted his confidence.

My daughter is almost three and is as goofy as her dad. She makes faces at me when the wrong song comes up on Pandora.

My wife is the serious one of the two of us. She works hard, harder than she gets credit for in my opinion. I’ve found that I can trust her with anything, from my writing, dreams, nightmares and my soul. We’ve been together almost 15 years and married almost 13.

I grew up in Utah and Wyoming and I love fishing, and miss it everyday.

I’ve been writing since I was fourteen. The last six years I’ve started churning out stories on a regular basis. I’ve had one short story published online and I’ve written two novels.

I was severely bullied in middle school and that comes out in my writing often. I lived with my dad after my parents were divorced, I was in third grade when that happened.

I moved in with my mom and step-dad in ninth grade and we moved around a lot. When we moved to Wyoming I found where I was supposed to be.

I’d always felt out of place in Utah, being non-Mormon does that. Wyoming was beautiful and I miss the snow storm, yes, the wind blowing in the night and the people. I think it’s where I’d like to move when I retire from a regular day job.

Writing has been my beacon of light, my guardian in the darkness and it’s kept my sanity when I felt like quitting life.

I don’t know where this life is taking me, but I’m finally enjoying the ride.

Where are you from and are you enjoying the ride? Answer in the comments.

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Life of Brian B Baker

  1. Wistfully looking towards Wyoming, too

    • My wife has only been there once, when we first started dating. My kids have never been there. That may be our next family trip, Flaming Gorge Days in Green River.

Leave a Reply

