5 Things That Have Inspired Me Recently.


Recently I’ve been watching movies and documentaries and reading books which lean toward artistic or spirituality.

The list is:

Midnight In Paris -Woody Allen 

The Way – Emilio Estevez 

Jiro Dreams of Sushi – David Gelb

TED Talks: Head Games, Tony Robbins

Existence – David Brin. This one is fiction but I learned a lot from this book as well as from reading David Brin’s website. He’s a very intelligent writer, and he’s posts will blow your mind.

Midnight in Paris was inspirational from a writer’s point of view. The thought of running into Hemingway, Fitzgerald and other writers from the same era had me wanting to read The Great Gatsby, which I’m reading now.

My wife loved Midnight in Paris because she’s an artist and when Salvador Dali came on the screen she was like a little kid. She’s love Dali since she went to the Dali museum in Florida. Best quote from this movie is from Hemingway, and it is perfect. You’ll never be a great writer if you fear dying, do you? 

The Way is one of those movies I’ll watch more than once, and may buy it so I can watch it a few times. The beautiful scenery of southern France, Spain and the Basque countryside was breathtaking and walking the Camino is now on my list of things to do before I die.

The movie was inspirational and it is beautifully directed by Emilio Estevez, as well as acted incredibly well by Martin Sheen. The best quote from the movie is from Emilio Estevez’s character, Daniel – You don’t choose a life Dad. You live one.

Jiro Dreams of Sushi is a movie I remember watching a trailer for a while ago and forgot about until I saw it on Netflix. The documentary is about having the passion to do things that people will remember you for.

This one quote from Jiro Ono sums up his feelings on Sushi and life. – Once you decide on your occupation… you must immerse yourself in your work. You have to fall in love with your work. Never complain about your job. You must dedicate your life to mastering your skill. That’s the secret of success… and is the key to being regarded honorably. – Jiro Ono

TED Talks: Head Games. I love TED talks. You can learn more from some TED talks than you can from being in a classroom, and may be the classes are taught in our future. Tony Robbins’ TED talk is the one I like for these. Explaining the complexity of human behavior and why we’re susceptible to certain types of behavior, such as lies.

Existence is a book that I’d been waiting to arrive at book stores. David Brin takes us on a journey into who we are as humans, what we’re really capable of and how we would deal with First Contact with an Extra-Terrestrial entity.

I learn something new from David Brin’s website with every post. If you’re into Science-Fiction, his site is one of the best.

All of these had things in them I’ve needed lately, spirituality, a thirst for passion, getting into the heads of my characters and learning about the human condition.

I hope you check these out.

Have you watched any of these, or read Existence? Leave your comments and opinions below.

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 5 Things That Have Inspired Me Recently.

  1. susielindau says:

    I need to see these movies!

    • The Way was amazing. I had to buy it this week on DVD, I don’t buy movies often. Jiro was good also. I’m going to buy that one as well. They’re all on Netflix right now.

  2. I loved Midnight in Paris! The Hemingway character was probably my favorite, and I loved that it didn’t go all cheese-mo/Hollywood at the end.

    The others you mentioned sound intriguing—TED Talks, especially. I’m always seeking great flicks, so thanks for the recommendations. 🙂

    • Thank you so much for you comments. I loved the Hemingway character in Midnight in Paris, but the F. Scott Fitzgerald was my favorite. Jiro was the one I’d most recently watched and it was still fresh. It was amazing to watch someone that was 85 when it was made have that much passion for something.

Leave a Reply

