Adventure To Find Myself.


When we find the right thing to write about it comes out of nowhere, we’re not sure if we should write it, regardless of who we are, or where we’ve been, sometimes there are stories that frighten us, if they’re personal our fear is great.

A year ago next week I took a trip for research. This trip made me think about things that happened when I was a teenager, and how far I’ve come since then.

The purpose of the trip was to take pictures of things, to find the character and write him in a way that was personal, but not overtly obvious.

I wasn’t expecting the trip to bring out memories that I’d forgotten, or buried deep inside. Some of these memories stood out for reasons that I’m still trying to deal with. Others stood out because I found that scared child I had been and discovered I still have some of that in me, but less with each year.

Only a few people know I took the trip. But I learned about who I am as a writer, and who I am as a father and husband.

I’ve gone through a growth process the last year with my writing, and personally. I hope this comes through in my writing.

I’m a lot different than I was a year ago. I attribute a lot of that to the trip I took.

Things are not the same as I was when I was a kid. I’ve learned about myself, and others. I know what my limits are, there are none, and what I’m afraid of, only clowns and spiders.

Getting past my past and moving on to something better has always been my goal, that was why I started writing again. It’s also the reason I’m starting to write the stories that frighten me and challenge my mind as well as my writing.

Our choices in life make us who we are, the way we handle those choices make a mark on our lives, something I wish I knew when I was a kid, but don’t we all.

I found who I was a year ago, I’ve made changes to who I am and I’ve learded to be who I want to be, and write what I want, without the fear of worrying what people think.

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Adventure To Find Myself.

  1. Sounds like quite a journey. Welcome to you!

  2. Dear Brian. In today’s blog post I’ve awarded you with a Liebster Blog Award. This award can be passed on to 5 bloggers of your choice but it’s entirely up to you whether you want to do this or not. I just wanted to let you know that I’d selected you for the award and also to say that I really enjoy visiting your blog too. 🙂

  3. Pingback: I Am A Writer Again « Feather Story

Leave a Reply

