Proud Gen Xer And 80’s Child


I’m a child of the 80’s I’ve played with an Atari 2600 and 5200. I watched MTV when a World Premiere video was a big deal.

I remember Dukakis in the tank, the Berlin Wall falling down and when Gorbachev was held at his house by KGB.

I ate Reagan cheese, McDonald’s when their food was good and Pizza Hut before they delivered.

I listened to Michael Jackson, Journey, hair metal, Billy Idol, and I remember when Kurt Cobain died.

There are many things about my childhood that stand out, but it was the 80’s, and its music and pop-culture that stands out the strongest.

I went to high school before everyone had a phone.

I think about the things I grew up with, and things from my childhood that I share with my own kids.

Recently, we watched Beetlejuice. My son hadn’t seen it since he was three or four. Bits and pieces scared him, the parts we thought would, but he laughed where he should have and thought the movie was funny.

It’s things like that, the music we listen to, our annual watching of The Great Pumpkin and all the old Black & White movies my wife and I grew up with that makes us remember our childhood, and with that remember what it was like to be a kid.

Kids grow up so fast right now.

They have their own phones, mine doesn’t he’s eight. They can find their way around the internet better than most of the Gen X people I grew up with. It’s because of these things, these advancements that kids understand things better than we did, or possibly ever will.

My son taught my mom to use her iPhone, iPad and shows me things on my 360 I didn’t know about.

It’s not that kids are smarter than they were when I was growing up in the 80’s, they’re immersed in things we weren’t.

I’m a Gen X kid, an 80’s child and I still love a good game of Pac-Man or Missile Command. These are things that remind me of what life was like in the 80’s and as a kid. Without these things, and showing my kids them I’m not I’d be such a good parent.

It’s by remembering the past that we forge the future generations.

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

