The Story That Won’t Go Away.


This image was selected as a picture of the we...

This image was selected as a picture of the week on the Malay Wikipedia for the 26th week, 2010. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There’s always that idea that comes to you, or came to you a while ago. The one you know you should write, but there’s the research to do and there’s other things you need before starting it.

I wrote about this idea on my post for The Today Voice, you can read it here.

I had an amazing idea recently. I’ve played Assassin’s Creed 3 lately. I’m a huge American History fan, yes that is something.

While I’ve been playing I’ve noticed the scenery and other things. There are so many things about life during the Colonies that can’t be seen by us, you know, since we’re in the future.

This idea of mine blends a few things I love, Science Fiction and American History. I’ve read a lot of books on U.S. history and I want to make something that is authentic to me, as I said in Monday’s post.

I can’t get more authentic than my love of American History. There are things about it that capture my imagination. From Thomas Jefferson to the Real Tea Party in Boston harbor, which wasn’t about what you think it was, to life and how they lived.

On Monday night I did something I haven’t done in a while, I was laying in bed, waiting to fall asleep and I had the start of the story. I’m writing for NaNoWriMo and this complicates that, but I’ve wanted to write something that felt me, felt like something amazing, as well as something authentic.

Authenticity is what writing is about. I love American History and a story that blends two of my favorite things would be a lot of fun to write. I’m not sure how much I could write until I get the particulars of life in the colonies right, but I want to try.

This is something I’ve struggled with before, but this time it feels different. I don’t feel like I’m being taken out of one story and thrown in another. I feel like this story, this history story is right, it feels like something I would write, more than any other.

There are dark elements to the story as there always is, but with this one I think I can do something only destined for gods, and not mortals.

This book is me, this book is who I am and I think this is what I’d have the most fun writing.

Have you ever came up with an idea that you loved so much, but were in the middle of another story and had to stop writing one story to pick it up?

Answer below.

This entry was posted in books, novels, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

