How We’re Teaching Buddhism To Our Kids.


Novitiate faculty in the Buddhism is prayying

Novitiate faculty in the Buddhism is prayying (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve posted many times about my beliefs in Buddhism, but I’ve never discussed what we tell our kids about Buddhism or Christianity. Here’s a couple of recent stories about our life and raising our kids Buddhist.

A few weeks ago, my son who’s eight and smarter than he acts and thinks more philosophically than most kids, came home from school and was talking to my wife, as my wife told it the story went like this.

“Mom, my friend says that God made the wind blow today.” My son said.

“She did?” My wife responded.

“Yeah.” He replied.

“Well what do you think?” My wife said.

“I don’t know, maybe.” My son said.

“You’re not sure or you think he does?’ She said.

“I don’t know.” he said.

“Quinn, there are a lot of people who believe in this thing called God, which we can’t prove exists. They think this God controls what happens to them, just like the wind.”

“They do?”

“You know we haven’t really talked about a God, but we’ve talked about Buddha. Who we know was a real person who actually lived. So with what you know about Buddha, who controls what happens to you?”

“I do.” My son said.

“That’s right.” My Wife replied.

The other story…

A few weeks ago my wife was driving home from picking up our daughter from Daycare, our son was with her. My wife had picked him up earlier in the day after he finished school.

Out of the blue, while they were driving. My son says…

“Mom in my next life, I want you to be my mom.”

My wife responded with…

“Really? Why is that?”

“You know because, you’re my mom and I don’t want to have anybody else as my mom because that would just be weird.”

“Well, we probably won’t remember who were in this life when we reach the next. But, yeah I’d like to be your mom in the next life too.”

My son is very insightful about Buddhism. We’ve taught him about meditation, read him stories about Siddhartha and before he became Buddha and what his life was like. But we really haven’t touched on Rebirth and some of the other teachings.

I think he’s either heard us talking about it or he’s done some reading on his own.

This entry was posted in Buddhism, Life, Parenting, Philosophy, religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How We’re Teaching Buddhism To Our Kids.

  1. May warmth and joy find your hearth and linger long. (great kid! Good job parents)

Leave a Reply

