Why I’m No Longer A Slave To Anger


Holding on to anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned. – Buddha

English: A metaphorical visualization of the w...

English: A metaphorical visualization of the word Anger. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

For a long time anger was a part of my life. I was angry at my parents for being divorced, myself for not following my dreams and at other smaller things I had not control over.

The angriest I’d ever been was a few years ago, when I received a letter from someone. The words were vile, untruthful and said in such an angry tone that I contemplated taking my life.

This letter came and my wife opened it and she didn’t want to show it to me, she knew how hurt and angry I would be over it. But, I read it and the words were shocking to me. The most shocking were these, “you’ll never be a writer, because no one cares what you have to say.” Well I can honestly say that when I read those words I was still trying to find my blogging and writing voice and it made me think about my writing.

In the end, those words were a catalyst to get me to not only write, but to write well. Since I received that letter I’ve written two novels, at least twenty short stories, one of them published online and my blog has never done better than it is now.

I turned the anger I felt into a positive. I still think about that letter often, and those words, but they are in a different context to me now. I’m no longer angry about those words, or any of the other things in the letter. I’m sad that someone felt that way about me, personally, and they had no other recourse than to write such a letter.

Their anger was at me, which began before the letter that caused the thing. I’m no longer angry at the person who wrote the letter, I feel sorry for them. They are angrier than I’ll ever be, but they don’t know how to deal with. I’ve dealt with my anger, through meditation and have come out the other side a better writer, a better human being and more willing to do things when someone says I can’t.

I’ve learned how to guide my anger and I’m no longer consumed by it. I can do things they said I couldn’t. I’m no longer getting burned by my anger, I’m putting that emotion to constructive use in other ways.

How have you dealt with your anger? Answer in the comments

This entry was posted in Life, Parenting, religion, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why I’m No Longer A Slave To Anger

  1. Pingback: Intergration « Rochelle Foulk

  2. Pingback: The Gift of Anger | Seedlings of Hope

  3. People who spew anger generally have something else going on – before you ever arrived on the scene/their consciousness. Often the response has nothing really to do with you – you are just there.
    I try to remember that…but it is hard not to react or to internalize that damaging noise
    Love that quote at the top – just excellent. Thanks
    Wishing many smiles and adventures for you in the new year

    • Thank you for your comments Philosopher. I’m doing a lot better with anger than I was a few years ago. Wishing great things to you and yours in 2013!

  4. Pingback: The Best Mom in the World Happens to be an Angry Mom | Miss Capla

  5. Pingback: !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!ANGER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! | coyfeetalksitup

Leave a Reply

