What Is The Writer’s Path?


How It Began

Rivière Sangha en République centrafricaine en...

Rivière Sangha en République centrafricaine en décembre 2010. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Last year I read Michael Hyatt‘s Platform: Getting Noticed in a Noisy World. I’ve actually read the book twice. I also did a review of it here.

After I read the book, the second time. I thought about what my Platform could be. In the latter part of 2012 I knew what it would be, I just needed an extra push. It came from the book Dharma Punx by Noah Levine.

Reading Noah’s story about his spiritual journey made it feel more effortless. I knew what I wanted to do, but it finally came together in the last few weeks. It’s my biggest goal for the blog in 2013.

2013 Goal Coming Together

My goal was to fuse Buddhism with the composition of my blog. I wanted to do this in a way that wouldn’t turn off readers, but in a way that would be true to myself. I knew I had to do this to create a blog that was more me, something I haven’t been doing as much I’d like.

There are things in Buddhism that fit with writing very well. Starting with the Eightfold path.

The Path divides into three sections: Wisdom, Ethical Conduct and Mental Discipline. Within each section lies the Eightfold Path of Right View, Right Intention, Right Speech, Right Action, Right Livelihood, Right Effort, Right Mindfulness and Right Concentration.

Following the same teachings as Buddhism, I’ve adopted the Buddhist Eightfold Path for Writers.

Read the text. A symbol of the eight fold path...

Read the text. A symbol of the eight fold path “Arya Magga” (the noble path of the dhamma) in Buddhism. An intricate representation of the Dharmachakra, or Buddhist eight spoked Wheel. Dhamma or Dharma (Photo credit: saamiblog)

The Writer’s Eightfold Path.

  1. Wisdom in Writing

  • Explain things the way they are. Never lie or make up stories about who you are. Be honest.
  • Commit to being honest with who you are and never try to sway anyone.
  1. Ethics in Writing

  • Never use words in anger in your writing. That wouldn’t be fair to the reader, nor would be true to who you are.
  • Never do anything to disappoint your readers or take them for granted.
  • Never use your writing for your own personal reasons or let anyone else.
  1. Mental Discipline of your writing.

  • Always put the effort you readers expect of you, never do anything that is half-assed.
  • Always speak with clarity, and control who you are. Never leaving your readers to guess if you’re bull-shitting them or not.
  • Every post is thought out and concise. The writing is fluid and only shows interest in the topic you’re writing about.

Disclaimer to Buddhists: This is not meant as anything other than finding myself in my writing.

Have you been following the Writer’s Eightfold Path? Why or why not? Answer in the comments.

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

