Why Dharma Punx Moved Me So Much!


I don’t remember what brought me to the book, I happened to be looking through books at Barnes & Noble and it was there, I picked it up, thumbed through a few pages as my daughter pulled on my pant leg, “Daddy, books.” She said, wanting to look at her books not the Eastern Philosophy and Buddhism books I always went to first.

You can never learn too much from books. This book was no different.

I’d heard of Noah Levine, but never wondered who he was, what kind of teacher he was or whether he’d had a book out. Dharma Punx, there is grammar and punctuation misses throughout the book (as many people on Goodreads will tell you in their review of the book), but that’s not what books like Dharma Punx is about.

These are the types of books that get people sober, get addicts clean and those whom have looked for help in their lives, whether they knew it or not, read for the sake of discovery. If you don’t want to read for the sake of discovering something wonderful, don’t read it.

Noah is brutally honest about his childhood, his teen years, his addiction and recovery. He also talks like I do. He talks like my generation. He made me feel comfortable in who I am, a 36-year-old Buddhist still walking the path trying to find out who he is.

It was his honesty in the telling of this memoir that made me like him and the book. I’ve been around addicts and alcoholics at points in my life. I’ve tried to stay sober for a long time, and failing.

In Noah’s journey he discovers Punk music and its  heavy sounds and nonconformity. He wants what most of my generation wanted. We wanted to die young and be left the hell alone, but have fun doing it.

When Noah is sitting in a cell, at bottom, his dad, Steven Levine, talks him through meditation. This moment in the book gave me chills and reminded me of the first time I meditated and felt the calming release.

When Noah does his tours of Asia, during his second tour ,based on his dad’s book, he discovers himself and what he wants from life. The memoir made me feel for him and know that I could do better. If an 80’s punk and addict can find his path, I can too.

Thank you Noah for Dharma Punx. When the book ended I nearly cried, because I want to be at that place. I wanted to find my path, I think Noah helped me with that.

What has helped you on your path? Answer in the comments.

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

