What 2012 Taught Me About My Blog


The Path of Dark Shadows

The Path of Dark Shadows (Photo credit: JusDaFax)

“The way is not in the sky. The way is in the heart.” ~ Buddha

This writer’s path.

When I decided to change a few things with the blog last year, the one thing that stood out most was what I wrote about. I wrote about my life, my job, my family, Buddhism and a bunch of other things. I never had a set, “This is what I write about”, type of thing. Well, that has to change. I will write about writing, and how incorporate what I’ve learned from writing into my daily life, including my spirituality.

There are things I’ve changed on the blog in the last year though. I’ve stopped writing three days a week on The Bleeding Inkwell mainly because I don’t have the time. It’s occupied by writing novels, kids, wife, day job and writing for The Today Voice. I love my The Bleeding Inkwell, its had many incarnations, but I believe this one is the best.

When I started I had no idea what I was doing, all I knew was I my writing needed reader. But, initially it wasn’t about what I wrote, it was about me, and only me. I never thought this was bad, I always thought that I should write about myself. Talking about oneself is fun, but it gets dull when you say the same things about your life. That’s why I’ve narrowed the Inkwell’s topics to writing only. Which is better for the reader and better for me in the sense that I don’t have to figure out what I’m going to write about.

Changes along the path.

My path with this blog was mediocre at best, I’d get a few hits now and then. But, when I changed the title of the blog just over a year ago, something happened. People started reading, and they returned many times and commented many times.

I don’t always write stuff I’m comfortable with, but I’m truthful to who I am, and that’s important to me.

My path with the Inkwell hasn’t always been something I’m proud of, but I’ve learned something from every post, and I’ve become a better writer with each post. If there’s one thing  about my writing now, it’s a helluva lot better than it was a few years ago, and I know that’s helped me.

Future paths…

The Bleeding Inkwell is the only way I can share my writing, at least until I get a book published. The Inkwell will continue to evolve, but I’ll never change who I am for the sake of the blog.

When I see the future of the Inkwell I know there will be with content that means something to me, and if 2012 taught me anything it’s being truthful to myself and well as my readers. I write for myself in the hope that I’ll reach someone, and my words will connect with them.

Isn’t that what any writer wants, a connection to their reader.

What’s have you learned from writing your blog? Answer in the comments.

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

